Learn AI
AI courses in South Africa: free and paid options in rand
AI courses in South Africa range from free online introductions you can finish in a weekend to university short courses that cost more than R15,000. The right one depends on what you want AI to do for you: help you at work, help you lead a team, or become your job. Below are real courses with their published prices and lengths, checked on 28 September 2026. Prices change, so confirm on the provider’s page before you pay.
Free AI courses in South Africa
| Course | Provider | Time | What you get | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Artificial Intelligence in the 4IR | University of Johannesburg | 150 hours, self-paced; enrol by 1 November 2026 | Eight units; not an accredited qualification | Anyone 18 or older who wants a structured local introduction |
| Elements of AI: Introduction to AI | University of Helsinki and MinnaLearn | About 4 to 8 hours per part | Online course, basic maths only, no programming | Complete beginners |
| AI For Everyone | DeepLearning.AI on Coursera | About 7 hours | Free to enrol; check Coursera for certificate costs | Managers and non-technical staff |
| Microsoft Learn AI training | Microsoft | Self-paced modules | Free training; certification exams cost extra | People who work in Microsoft 365 or Azure |
Microsoft’s South African programme is also worth knowing about. Microsoft said in January 2026 that it had trained 1.4 million South Africans since launching its AI skills initiative in 2025, and that its YES 50K programme offers 50,000 free Microsoft certification exam vouchers to young South Africans. Its AI modules are also available through SABC Plus.
AI short courses at South African universities
| University | Course | Length and format | Fee | Next date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wits Plus | Introduction to Artificial Intelligence | 6 weeks online, about 6 to 10 hours a week | R11,730 incl. VAT | 19 October to 27 November 2026, apply by 5 October |
| Wits Plus | Your Personal AI System: hands-on generative AI | 6 weeks online, about 6 to 10 hours a week | R11,730 incl. VAT | 19 October to 27 November 2026 |
| Wits Business School | Masterclass in AI for Strategic Foresight | 2 days; the March 2027 run is listed as online | R7,000 (2027 fee) | 17 to 18 March 2027 |
| Wits Business School | Masterclass in Applied Artificial Intelligence | 2 days, face to face | R10,500 (2027 fee) | 8 to 9 June 2027 |
| UCT, with GetSmarter | AI for Business: From Vision to Value | 6 weeks online, 6 to 10 hours a week | R16,600 | 8 February 2027 |
| UCT | Designing with AI, for educators and trainers | 6 weeks online, weekly 2-hour workshops | R6,000 | 2026 cohorts have run; check for 2027 |
| Stellenbosch University | AI Literacy and Empowerment for Language Practitioners | 8 weeks | R5,001 to R10,000 (Stellenbosch’s estimate) | Check the course page |
| Stellenbosch University | The use of AI in the public sector | Not stated | R5,001 to R10,000 (Stellenbosch’s estimate) | Check the course page |
| University of Johannesburg | Artificial Intelligence short learning programme | 40 hours, self-paced | R5,190 (2026 fee) | 2026 enrolment closes 30 September |
| University of Pretoria, via Enterprises UP | Artificial Intelligence for Complex Systems | Not stated | R18,500 incl. VAT | On request |
A few notes on who these suit. The Wits Plus courses are the most general: one is a non-technical introduction, the other a hands-on course in using tools such as ChatGPT and Claude, and both come with a Wits certificate. UCT’s AI for Business is aimed at mid-career and senior people leading AI work, while the Wits Business School masterclasses are for executives. UJ’s paid programme was designed for accounting, auditing and finance students, and the Enterprises UP course expects an engineering or computer science degree, or three years of related experience, and carries 5 ECSA CPD points.
Paid online AI certificates
| Certificate | Provider | Time | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google AI Essentials | Google on Coursera | Under 10 hours, five short courses | Coursera plan: US$49 a month in the US and Canada (about R800 before VAT); prices vary by country | Everyday users who want a Google certificate |
| Google AI Professional Certificate | Google on Coursera | Eight short courses of about an hour each | Same Coursera plan; Google includes three months of Google AI Pro, terms apply | Office workers who want hands-on practice |
| Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Fundamentals | Microsoft | One exam, now AI-901 | Priced by the country where you write the exam | IT staff and developers moving into Azure AI |
| AWS Certified AI Practitioner | Amazon Web Services | 90-minute exam, 65 questions | US$100 (about R1,632 before VAT) | Cloud, IT and business staff working with AWS |
Coursera offers financial aid on Google AI Essentials, and Coursera says its prices differ outside the US and Canada, so check the rand price it shows you before you subscribe. Remember that foreign digital services usually attract 15% VAT in South Africa. For the AWS exam, AWS publishes a preparation plan on its Skill Builder platform.
Which AI course suits you?
- You want to use AI at work. Start free with AI For Everyone or Elements of AI, then take a practical course such as Google AI Essentials or the Wits Plus generative AI course. Learn the basics of prompt engineering and of AI and POPIA.
- You lead a team or run a business. UCT’s AI for Business or a Wits Business School masterclass focus on strategy, readiness and rolling AI out.
- You want to build AI systems. Move from Elements of AI to its Building AI course, which offers Python tracks, then add cloud skills through the AWS or Microsoft certificates.
- You teach or train. UCT’s Designing with AI was built for learning designers, educators and trainers.
- You want a career in AI. Our guide to AI jobs in South Africa covers the roles, the pay and the remote AI training platforms.
How to choose an AI course
- Match it to the job. A strategy course will not teach you Python, and a coding course will not help a manager decide where AI fits.
- Check how recent it is. AI tools change quickly, so look for courses that name current tools and were updated recently.
- Look for practice. Courses where you build or automate something are worth more than video lectures.
- Try the free options first. Pay when you need structure, feedback or a certificate an employer recognises.
- Check the credential. Some courses give a university certificate, some a vendor badge, and some, like UJ’s free programme, are not accredited.
- Be wary of promises. No course can guarantee a job or an income.
If you are training a team rather than yourself, the fastest learning usually happens on the team’s own processes rather than in a generic course. That is the kind of work Zaiq does through AI consulting.
Questions people ask
Are there free AI courses in South Africa?
Yes. The University of Johannesburg runs Artificial Intelligence in the 4IR, a free, self-paced, 150-hour programme for anyone 18 or older, with 2026 enrolment open until 1 November. Elements of AI from the University of Helsinki is free online, AI For Everyone is free to enrol on Coursera, and Microsoft Learn's AI training is free. Microsoft has also funded free exam vouchers for young South Africans.
How much do AI short courses cost in South Africa?
On published 2026 and 2027 prices, university AI short courses run from R5,190 for UJ's 40-hour programme to R18,500 for Enterprises UP's AI for Complex Systems. Wits Plus charges R11,730 for its six-week online courses, UCT's AI for Business costs R16,600, and Wits Business School's two-day masterclasses cost R7,000 to R10,500. Stellenbosch lists R5,001 to R10,000 for its AI short courses.
What is the best AI course for beginners?
For a complete beginner, start free with Elements of AI or AI For Everyone, which explain what AI is and what it can do without any programming. If you want a structured South African option, UJ's free Artificial Intelligence in the 4IR programme covers the basics in eight units. Pay for a course only when you want hands-on practice, feedback or a certificate.
Do I need to code to do an AI course?
Not for most introductory courses. Elements of AI's Introduction to AI needs only basic maths and no programming, and AI For Everyone is aimed at non-technical people. Coding matters once you want to build AI systems: the Building AI course offers a beginner track with no programming, but its intermediate and advanced tracks use Python.
Is an AI certificate worth it for a job?
It can help you get past a screening filter, especially a vendor certificate such as Azure AI Fundamentals or AWS Certified AI Practitioner. Employers usually care more about what you can show, so pair any course with a small project from real work. Check whether a certificate is accredited: UJ's free AI course, for example, is not an accredited qualification.
How long does it take to learn AI?
Learning to use AI tools sensibly takes days to weeks: AI For Everyone is about seven hours, and each part of Elements of AI takes about four to eight hours. Building AI systems takes months of study and practice. The Building AI course alone is estimated at about 50 hours, and staying current is ongoing because the tools keep changing.
Sources
- Wits Plus: Introduction to Artificial Intelligence
- Wits Plus: Your Personal AI System, a hands-on generative AI course
- Wits Business School: Masterclass in Applied Artificial Intelligence
- Wits Business School: Masterclass in AI for Strategic Foresight
- UCT via GetSmarter: AI for Business, From Vision to Value
- UCT Learning Store: Designing with AI
- Stellenbosch University: AI Literacy and Empowerment for Language Practitioners
- Stellenbosch University: The use of artificial intelligence in the public sector
- UJ Digital: Artificial Intelligence in the 4IR (free)
- UJ Digital: Artificial Intelligence short learning programme
- Enterprises University of Pretoria: Artificial Intelligence for Complex Systems
- Elements of AI: course site and FAQ
- Coursera: AI For Everyone (DeepLearning.AI)
- Coursera: Google AI Essentials
- Coursera: Google AI Professional Certificate
- Microsoft Learn: Azure AI Fundamentals certification
- Microsoft Source EMEA: Microsoft and SABC Plus AI skills (January 2026)
- AWS: Certified AI Practitioner
Checked September 2026. Prices and features change, so confirm on the official site before you buy.